13 must have cookie recipes for the holidays

When it comes to menus for the holidays, everyone has a food they look forward to all year round. Some can’t get enough of their favorite Thanksgiving turkey or Christmas ham, while others stack their plates high with homemade sides like mashed potatoes, sweet potato casserole, mac and cheese, and more. But one thing is certain with every family member no matter how old they are: dessert is the best part of the meal! A lot of families have traditional dessert recipes that only make a special appearance once a year, others have a common go-to that comes around every family get-together, and some just use the power of Google or Pinterest to something new, easy to make, and tasty to feed the family.

I personally LOVE to bake, and there are so many seasonal desserts that my family makes for each holiday that bring joy to my heart, and warm happy feelings in my stomach. While those go-tos are great, this year I wanted to expand my horizons by gathering recipes (old and new) to try out myself. After hours upon hours of research, I gathered a list of recipes perfect for the upcoming holidays, some old family favorites I can eventually master like family members before me, and some that I am DYING to try for the first time.

With that in mind, I felt inspired to share some of those awesome recipes in the cookie category that I have either baked myself and loved, or will definitely try to make for my household this year. The recipes are so diverse, no cookie on this list will be similar to another, so I am excited to make all of the sweet treats on this list!

To access a recipe, click on the title of the cookie, and you will be redirected to the website that holds the original recipe and directions on how to make it. Pictures from the recipe website are also included so that you can see what they look like and get a feel for the esthetic and appeal of each cookie.

1.) Raspberry Filled Christmas Tree Cookies

Photo by Queen of My Kitchen

2.) White Chocolate Dipped Peppermint Sugar Cookies

Photo by Cooking Classy

3.) Oreo Balls

Photo by Butter With a Side of Bread

4.) Chocolate Chip Cookies (from scratch)

Photo by Kate Miss

5.) Copycat Jingles Cookies

Photo by Shugary Sweets

6.) Christmas Wreath Cookies

Photo by Dinner at the Zoo

7.) Chocolate-Marshmallow Pillows

Photo by Betty Crocker

8.) Red Velvet Crinkle Cookies

Photo by Mama’s on a Budget

9.) Sugar Cookies With Icing

Photo by Katrina’s Kitchen

10.) Peppermint Candy Cane Cookies

Photo by Self Proclaimed Foodie

11.) Classic Peanut Butter Blossom Cookies

Photo by Betty Crocker

12.) Snickerdoodle

Photo by Modern Honey

13.) Nutella Macarons

Photo by Pies & Tacos

Do you have a favorite cookie or other dessert recipe that you love to make (or eat) this holiday season? Share the recipe in the comments below to help spread some sweet love to all who have a passion to bake. Sharing is caring, and we all need as much love and care as we can get.

Leave a comment